Rifaximin Treatment, Day 10

7:30 am – woke up feeling pretty refreshed, but was like nah. I’m going back to sleep.

8:30 am – woke up feeling pretty refreshed, but was like, nah. I’m going back to sleep.

9:00 am – woke up feeling pretty groggy. I should get out of bed now.

Upon Waking

(high = bad)
Sensitivity to FODMAPS – ?/10
Brain fog – 2/10
Head pressure – 4/10
Bloating – 3/10
Anxiety – 5/10
Depression – 6/10

(high = good)
Overall well being – 4/10

Doesn’t seem like I’m doing so well on the antibiotic anymore. My thinking is still relatively clear but I’ve been depressed, anxious and tired the past couple days. On the other hand I’m still recovering from that food reaction to quinoa (was it really a food reaction or an effect of the antibiotic? Now I wonder) which usually takes about a week to get out of. The anxiety and fatigue could just be because I accidentally went too low on FODMAPs again.

Who knows. My symptoms were so much more simple and predictable when I could tolerate FODMAP foods.

12:00 pm – Gotta try dragging myself out of this depressive/inflamed state or things could get ugly. My sprained ankle seems to be making progress lately so going to get back to using the stationary bike for cardio. Going to go buy some broccoli sprouts and start working those back in. Gonna be more strict on taking time to meditate. Playing guitar has helped a lot for when the depression gets bad. Might get back to using the sauna (although I don’t know if that’s a great idea for the swelling in my ankle). All of these have been really beneficial for my symptoms in the past so maybe it’ll help break the cycle. I don’t want the wrong types of bacteria to grow back once the antibiotic is done so I feel like in these next four days it will be crucial to do a lot of mood lifting and anti-inflammatory things for my body.

4:00 pm took second dose. Things getting a bit redundant now so will just update as any major changes occur! The gist of it has been that I’m thinking clearly but incredibly and uncharacteristically mood swingy.

Leave a Reply

