Rifaximin Treatment, Day 9

9:00 am Woke up, took first dose. I’ve been waking up later the past couple days, feeling more groggy. Brain fog a bit worse and pressure in head is worse. Depression still there but not crushing like it was at times yesterday. Have a doctors appointment at 10:45 to report on how the antibiotic has been working.

Upon Waking

(high = bad)
Sensitivity to FODMAPS – ?/10
Brain fog – 2/10
Head pressure – 4/10
Bloating – 3/10
Anxiety – 4/10
Depression – 6/10

(high = good)
Overall well being – 5/10

12:00 pm – reported my progress with doc. Last week, before ultimately giving me the antibiotic, she was skeptical to prescribe it to me as she believes all my symptoms are caused by stress. Thankfully she was kind enough to let me try it. I told her how I have been thinking much more clearly on it and for the most part have felt better all over.

She said yes, this is psychological.

Dammit. I figured she would grant me that perhaps there is at least SOME relation between the critters in my gut and my symptoms. But nope. Everything that has helped me so far is all just placebo …

Oh well.

4:00 pm Took second dose. Gut has been pretty sore all day, which has made my body feel very irritable. This feeling happens when I’ve taken an antimicrobial for a while, or if I try to cut out FODMAPs completely. It usually means my gut is irritated. Raw foods exacerbate my symptoms when I’m like this. Still thinking pretty clearly but not feeling very good.

11:00 pm – Took third dose. Felt better after taking a bit of the prebiogen. The irritability all over my body went away and my gut felt better. It’s a trade off though as it makes my brain fog worse. Regardless felt better by the time I got into bed.

Leave a Reply

