Rifaximin Treatment, Day 7

7:30 am – Woke up another half hour earlier feeling completely refreshed. Amazing. At this point I’m waking up without an alarm almost two hours before I would normally wake up. I’ve gone from needing 9+ hours of sleep to feeling good with less than 7.5 hours. My days are getting longer and longer on Rifaximin.

In addition, my brain fog and head pressure were at their lowest “upon waking” levels since the start of treatment. My mood is improving but still experiencing a fair amount of depressive symptoms from my accidental food reaction.

One more week to go!

Upon Waking

Sensitivity to FODMAPS – ?/10
Brain fog – 1/10
Head pressure – 1/10
Bloating – 1/10
Anxiety – 3/10
Depression – 6/10 (because of the food reaction a couple days ago)

(high = good)
Overall well being – 6/10 (8/10 if we’re excluding the depression)

Took first Rifaximin dose of the day and fog and head pressure are increasing again. Now I’m torn again as to whether I should try consuming FODMAPs again (refer to note yesterday), as it seems like the brain fog returns after my first daily dose regardless of whether I take Prebiogen or not. I’ll pay attention to whether the intensity of the symptoms is less without the prebiotics. If it’s about the same, it would be worth it to include them once again. At this point in time I honestly have no idea whether I’m tolerating FODMAPs better or worse than before starting Rifaximin.

3:30 pm Took second dose. For lunch I included tomatoes and navy beans with my salad and fortunately I don’t think this tiny addition of FODMAPs has made my symptoms any worse. I think I’ll stick with this small amount of FODMAPs for now. My die-off symptoms have gotten more intense again since taking my first dose this morning but it’s bearable, and I’m still thinking pretty clearly. Have a headache again though which hasn’t happened since the first few days on Rifaximin.

11:00 pm Took third dose. Still feeling pretty clear headed! With the reduced inflammation my testosterone levels are shooting back up too which is definitely an added bonus. Still coming out of the depression but once that passes I should feel pretty damn good.

Leave a Reply

